Mumbai Local Train Station Renaming 2024: List and Historical Background

Mumbai Local Train Station Renaming 2024: List and Historical Background

The Maharashtra government has given an in principle approval to rename seven local railway stations in Mumbai, discarding their British-era names. The proposal, which has been approved by Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, aims to reflect the city's cultural heritage and resonate more with local sentiments 

The proposed name changes, such as transforming Currey Road to Lalbaug, Sandhurst Road to Dongri, and Marine Lines to Mumbadevi, aim to not only honor Mumbai's rich history but also reflect contemporary relevance and cultural significance. These changes are part of a broader trend in Mumbai, where landmarks are being reevaluated to better represent India's sovereignty and discard remnants of colonial influence 

In 2017, Mumbai witnessed a significant transformation in its railway station nomenclature, marking a departure from colonial legacies to embrace local identities. The iconic Elphinstone Road station, named after Lord Elphinstone, was rechristened as Prabhadevi station, paying homage to the nearby Prabhadevi temple. Similarly, the historic Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus in south Mumbai underwent a name modification, adding the honorific 'Maharaj' to become Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus (CSMT). This UNESCO World Heritage Site was formerly known as Victoria Terminus, honoring Queen Victoria of Great Britain

The list of stations with their current and new names: 

  • Currey Road  ➺ Lalbaug 
  • Sandhurst Road ➺ Dongri 
  • Marine Lines ➺ Mumbadevi 
  • Charni Road ➺ Girgaon  
  • Cotton Green ➺ Kalachowki 
  • Dockyard ➺ Mazgaon 
  • King's Circle ➺ Tirthankar Parshvanath 

The proposed renaming of Mumbai's railway stations signifies a significant shift towards embracing the city's cultural heritage and local sentiments. Here is some additional information about the regions to which the changes are proposed: 

Currey Road will be renamed Lalbaug.

Lalbaug is a vibrant neighbourhood in Mumbai known for its famous Ganesh festival celebrations, particularly the Lalbaugcha Raja, one of the city's most revered idols during Ganesh Chaturthi.

Sandhurst Road will be renamed Dongri.

Dongri is a historic area in Mumbai known for its bustling markets, diverse communities, and rich cultural heritage. It is famous for its street food, textile markets, and vibrant atmosphere. 

Marine Lines will be renamed Mumbadevi.

Mumbadevi is a significant deity in Mumbai's history, with the Mumbadevi Temple being a popular place of worship in the city. Renaming Marine Lines to Mumbadevi pays homage to this revered goddess.

Charni Road will be renamed Girgaon.

Girgaon is a traditional neighbourhood in Mumbai with a deep-rooted history and cultural significance. It is known for its traditional Maharashtrian culture, iconic eateries, and historical landmarks.

Cotton Green will be renamed Kalachowki.

Kalachowki is a neighbourhood in Mumbai known for its cultural events, traditional festivals, and historical significance. Renaming Cotton Green to Kalachowki reflects the area's rich history and local traditions.

Dockyard will be renamed Mazgaon.

Mazgaon is an area in South Mumbai with a rich maritime history and industrial legacy. Renaming Dockyard to Mazgaon acknowledges this locality's historical importance and connection to Mumbai's past. 

King's Circle will be renamed Tirthankar Parshvanath.

Tirthankar Parshvanath represents reverence for religious and philosophical roots. This renaming aims to symbolize Mumbai's respect for its spiritual heritage and values 

These proposed name changes not only aim to align with local sentiments but also highlight the historical, cultural, and spiritual significance of these regions within Mumbai. 

Dated March 13, 2024